Plumber in a Half Shell

mario1.gifThere has been much debate over the additional power ups in New Super Mario Brothers. Do they add very much to the game, and how do they compare to our favourites of old. Possibly the most maligned of the new abilities is the shell suite. Admitedly following in line of mario suites that feature in most players favourite mario moments, this little outfit has its work cut out.

However, of the reviews I have read the majority have missrepresented this power-up that provided me with a good few interesting play experiences. Leaving the actual dynamics of clading the player in a new outfit to one side, the main issue here is understanding what the turtle shell gives you.

Firstly, there is the invulnerability aspect of the suite. This has been pretty well documented elsewhere. Essentially, you are safe from most enemies once you have got up to speed and are hid inside your shell.

Secondly, and this is less widely talked about, is the ability to destruct bricks from the side. If the only available face of a brick is the left or right, the shell enables you to bash your way through it. This is used in the game to provide access to some of the harder to reach secret levels and exits.

Thirdly, is the unmentioned ability of the suite to let the player slide up slops that they could not normally walk, run or jump up. This can be used (particularly in the ghost mansion level with dissapearing stairs) to easily access areas that previously would have been awkward or impossible to get to.

Finally, there is the aforementioned dynamic of having a whole new outfit for our little plumber guy. Something that gives the player the sense that their avartar is more real, in the game world.

For my play experience, the shell is one of my favourite power-ups.

Pledge your support to the blue shell suite, below.

10 Responses to “Plumber in a Half Shell”


  1. 1 westerway229 July 12, 2006 at 5:45 pm

    Ok, I admit, I quite like the litlle plumber guy wearing that shell. It is kind of useful.

  2. 2 glever2 July 12, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    Add me to the blue shell suite roll. Lets see more suites in the next mario outing.

  3. 3 noncontagious June 3, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Noncontagious says : I absolutely agree with this !

  4. 5 great site February 22, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  5. 6 click this link February 28, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Hey I am so glad I found your website, I really found you by error, while I
    was browsing on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am
    here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great job.

  6. 7 quickbooks help March 20, 2013 at 9:36 am

    Heya! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog like yours take a lot of work?

    I’m completely new to running a blog but I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d
    like to start a blog so I can share my experience and thoughts online.

    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog
    owners. Appreciate it!

  7. 8 Going in gresiksurfing.com January 3, 2014 at 3:00 am

    Thanks , I have just been looking for information approximately
    this subject for a long time and yours is the best I’ve came upon till
    now. However, what concerning the bottom line? Are you certain about the source?

  8. 9 Charline January 3, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly feel this web
    site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see
    more, thanks for the advice!

  9. 10 Joesph January 5, 2014 at 9:44 am

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing
    to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they
    just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect ,
    people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks


Leave a Reply

